Making the Wood Tree

I received some questions about the construction of the white Christmas tree shown to the right (and in a recent post)and the wood flooring tree as well. Do I sell such things? Sure. This white one is for sale but I’ll happily bring it home if it doesn’t sell!

Do I mind if you make one yourself instead? Nah… won’t bother me a bit. Go for it! Unfortunately, I am terrible about taking before (or even in-process) photos, so you’ll have to accept a sketch of sorts. Remember, there is no right or wrong way and your tree will be a reflection of your style (and your wood stash!) which is why I love this project. The wood flooring trees are different, but here’s some “how to” info on the white tree.

All of my boards were the same length, and I wanted a symmetrical tree.  This was my cutting and layout plan:

  1. I measured the length of my boards and divided that number in half. This was my “x”
  2. I decided that I wanted the “step-back” on each side to be approximately 1 inch, so my “y” was two inches.
  3. I cut my boards and glued them together. In my case, I was using tongue and groove wainscoting that was salvaged, so my boards really “took” together, but I wanted to add some stability, so…
  4. I took a salvaged 1×3 that was slightly longer than my assembled “tree” was tall. I attached it to the back with some showing at the bottom (as a trunk). A single screw went into each horizontal board. If my boards weren’t tongue-and-groove, more reinforcement may have been needed.
  5. My boards were a cold white and I wanted a softer look, so out came the Annie Sloan Paint for a coat.
  6. I used a heavy D-hanger on the back so the tree can hang on the wall. It can also lean against a wall.
  7. I used old rusty chains I had around the house to create “garlands” and added some screws to the front (you could use cup hooks, too) so I could hang ornaments (or industrial elements)

Some additional notes:

  • I had six identical boards, so my tree was 11-boards tall
  • You can use wood scraps, puzzling them together to come up with your design (that’s how the reclaimed flooring trees come to be).
  • You can add spacing between your horizontal boards. As mine were tongue and grooved? I didn’t do that.
  • Your tree need not be symmetrical. The blogosphere is packed with tons of more whimsical trees. I wanted symmetry.
  • Before I “decorated” my tree, I had many customers tell me it looked like a wedding cake… file that away kiddies… if you have ornate molding strips and you assemble them like this (and paint them a lovely creamy color) you’ll have the perfect cake sign!

I hope that answers at least some of the questions!

Ditto

This post headed over to party at Whatever Wednesday at Momma Hen’s Coop and then snuck into Domestically Speaking’s Power of Paint Party (the night is still young!)
Momma Hens CoopDomesticallySpeaking

This entry was posted in Heritage Square Antique Mall, How To and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

