“The Greater Wall of Columbus”

They say that good fences make good neighbors. Anyone who has an antique booth knows how important (and often difficult) it is to have a delineated space and that’s where the wall of doors comes in. I like how they turned out, even with the fuzzy photo I snapped as I was leaving.

I first tried to sell them at Heritage Square, where they moved around quite a bit over the last few months. I had a few nibbles on them but nobody seemed to like them as much as I did!

I brought them home in January with plans of doing something with them. I even contemplated turning them on their side and using them as very chunky wainscoting (I saw that done at a B&B in Philadelphia once).  I stashed them out-of-the-way and then (as often happens) they were forgotten.

When I got the new space at Greater Columbus, I knew exactly what I’d do with them. The blogosphere is full of upcycled door ideas and I knew I could create a fun and functional wall to separate my booth from the next-door neighbor’s. Later, if I wanted to change things, I could easily move them around the space individually. Since I had the moving truck at the beginning of the month, the doors went to GCAM first where they hugged the wall for the month (left).

None of them are exactly the same size. They were trimmed down to fit odd openings, apparently. Oh, and the hardware? What a hodge-podge. Still, they are sturdy and I don’t mind their quirkiness.

At home, I made two units to attach to two doors. I was determined to make these with materials on hand in my hoard stash, and I did precisely that with the exception of self-tapping screws I bought so I could easily attach the units to the doors on-site. No, I didn’t take process photos. Sorry. I rarely remember to do that and the way I work (in spurts and at odd hours) isn’t conducive to photography.

Today, mom accompanied me and we attached the units to the door and then quickly painted the doors to blend (I used a mix of lo-voc and plaster of paris this time around). The third door unit will need to wait for inspiration and time. For now, that middle door is simply attached to the other doors by hinges (as straps) so it doesn’t fall over! The two units stand alone, actually… quite heavy I might add.

The first unit was cobbled together from:

  • an old kitchen upper cabinet (12″x15″x30″)
  • legs made from repurposed fencepost tops
  • two scrap wood pieces for a top
  • 1×4 lumber as trim
  • two knobs from my stash
  • homemade chalk paint, clear & dark wax

The second was created as a quasi-table from:

    • two chunky table legs – only had the two!
    • 1x12s I had from a shelving project for a top
    • 1×4 boards for the front and side pieces
    • homemade chalk paint, clear wax

I still need to add some shelves and hooks to the top of the doors for more storage, but I was pleased to get the units up and will gladly press them into service. I’ve already had some inquiries about them (from customers) so I may create some of these for sale. What do you think?

This entry was posted in Greater Columbus Antique Mall, How To, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The Greater Wall of Columbus”

  1. polly says:

    I bought a great tote from your booth there! You definitely have the best booth there! Not sure how you’re doing the stairs though!

    Polly
    Motley Junket

    • onlineditto says:

      Glad you made it all the way up there! I’ve questioned my sanity on more than one occasion as I carried something up those steps. Did I say “carried”? Um, dragged, pushed, hauled? Shannon recently had that shopping tour at HSAM… come spring, or early summer, maybe we could get together a group to visit a few places (GCAM, HSAM, Eclectiques, etc) What do you think? I know there are more places in driving distance.

Leave a Reply

